Sixteen determined women sought "to perpetuate the ideals of our Founders through the union of college women," and establish a Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated in the cities of Minneapolis and St. Paul. These women aspired to provide service to the community by implementing projects that were in sync with the Five Point Program of the sorority. They believed their collective leadership would advance the image and ideals of Delta Sigma Theta. The chapter was originally comprised of members from Minneapolis and St. Paul with a seat in Minneapolis. The original application to the charter was submitted by Jeanne I. Wilson and the chapter was chartered on March 12, 1966. 

Charter Members from left to right
Wilma Lyghtner Kirchhofer, Catherine Woodard Williams, Jacquelynne Harrison Whitner, Mary Francis Kipper, Ethel English

Charter Members

Ethel English

Delores Henderson

Artis Hopkins

Ruth Jackson

Mary Francis Kipper

Bessie Lewis

Wilma Lyghtner

Ruby McGee



Inez Parker

Contejean Peoples

Mona T. Stephens

Erma Todd

Jacquelynne Whitner

Catherine Woodward Williams

Jeanne I. Wilson

Mary Wimberly

Velvet Background 1.png

National Website

Visit Delta Sigma Theta's national website at

Regional Website

Minneapolis-St. Paul Alumnae Chapter is part of the Mighty Midwest region of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. Visit the Midwest Region's website at

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter social icon

© 2019 - 2021

This website is the sole property and responsibility of the Minneapolis-St.Paul Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated.